North Iowans playing and coaching in All-Star baseball series

Competition leads to championship game on Sunday.

Posted: Aug 2, 2018 8:25 PM
Updated: Aug 2, 2018 8:53 PM

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The 2018 Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association All-Star series is underway.

Four teams featuring players from all over the state will be playing a round-robin tournament at the University of Iowa’s Duane Banks Field, with a consolation and a championship game on Sunday.

Small Schools Squad East defeated Large Squad Schools East 4-1 on Thursday.

Jake Rood at bat.

The teams are divided into two squads for small schools and two for large schools.

The Small Schools East Squad features Caden Kratz of Newman Catholic and one of the coaches is Devin Schwiesow from St. Ansgar.

The Large Schools West Squad includes Jake Rood and Bryce Butler from Mason City, with Troy Rood and Brian Niesen of Mason City on the coaching staff.

In addition, the Coaches Association has named its 32nd All-Academic Teams. Andrew Morse of Newman Catholic and Liam Stubbe of AGWSR made the first team and Jace Leininger of Newman Catholic and Jake Rood of Mason City made the second team.

Article Comments

Mason City
71° wxIcon
Hi: 74° Lo: 54°
Feels Like: 71°
Albert Lea
Scattered Clouds
73° wxIcon
Hi: 73° Lo: 54°
Feels Like: 73°
Scattered Clouds
73° wxIcon
Hi: 75° Lo: 56°
Feels Like: 73°
Charles City
Broken Clouds
72° wxIcon
Hi: 73° Lo: 54°
Feels Like: 72°
Broken Clouds
69° wxIcon
Hi: 72° Lo: 55°
Feels Like: 69°
Tracking sunny skies all this week
KIMT Radar
KIMT Eye in the sky

Community Events