CLOSINGS: View Closings

Minnesota individual section wrestling finals

Local wrestlers aim to head to the state tournament.

Posted: Feb. 23, 2019 10:45 PM


Section 1A

106: Michael Majerus (Zumbrota-Mazeppa) defeated Cohen Whiste (Grand-Meadow-LeRoy Ostrander-Southland) by a 4-1 decision

113: Cael Bartels (Chatfield) defeated Tucker Ginther (Caledonia-Houston) by a 8-5 decision.

120: Ross Herber (Lewiston Altura-Rushford Peterson) defeated John Poulin (Zumbrota-Mazeppa) by a 4-1 decision. 

126: Seth Goetzinger (Chatfield) defeated Gabe Speltz (Lewiston Altura-Rushford Peterson) by a 4-3 decision. 

132: Jackson Hale (Grand Meadow-LeRoy Ostrander-Southland) defeated Taylor DeFrang (Dover-Eyota) by a 5-3 decision.

138: Mark Buringa (Saint Charles) defeated Tagen Miller (Wabasha-Kellogg) by a 5-3 decision.

145: Kyle Cavanaugh (Caledonia-Houston) defeated Baxter O'Reilly (Goodhue) by a 6-1 decision. 

152: Marcus Otomo (Dover-Eyota) defeated Isaac Denstad (Caledonia-Houston) by a 6-4 decision

160: Kelby O'Reilly (Goodhue) defeated Ethan Kovars (Zumbrota-Mazeppa) by pinfall (1:30)

170: Kaleb O'Reilly (Goodhue) defeated Davontae Goldsmith (Chatfield) by a 5-1 decision. 

182: Jacob Bennett (Zumbrota-Mazeppa) defeated Logan Wendt (Saint Charles) by a 9-5 decision. 

195: Michael Nelson (Dover-Eyota) defeated Noah Herber (Lewiston Altura-Rushford Peterson) by pinfall (0:25)

220: Kodee O'Reilly (Goodhue) defeated Nick McCabe (Caledonia-Houston) by a 11-8 decision. 

285: Clayton Luthe (Grand Meadow-LeRoy Ostrander-Southland) defeated Alec Francis by pinfall (2:45) 

Section 1AA 

106: Luke Williams (Pine Island) defeated Jonathan Harvey (Lake City) by a 4-3 decision. 

113: Maxwell Peterson (Byron) defeated Logan Vaughn (Kasson-Mantorville) by a 9-0 decision.

120: Chase DeBlaere (Simley) defeated Robby Horsman (Kasson-Mantorville) by pinfall (0:27)

126: Mitchell Peterson (Byron) defeated Giovanni Ruffo (Kasson-Mantorville) by a 7-1 decision.

132: Ryan Sokol (Simley) defeated Matthew Harfmann (Kasson-Mantorville) by pinfall (1:33) 

138: Cael Berg (Simley) defeated Dawson Fallon (Pine Island) by a 10-0 decision

145: Carlos Ruffo (Kasson-Mantorville) defeated Antonio Everett (Simley) by a 6-4 decision.

152: Gavin Nelson (Simley) defeated Cael Marx (Plainview-Elgin-Millville) by a 3-2 decision

160: Bennett Berge (Kasson-Mantorville) defeated Jacob Hageman (Simley) by a 12-4 decision.

170: Nolan Wanzek (Simley) defeated Colton Jorgenson (La Crescent-Hokah) by a 10-2 decision

182: Patrick Kennedy (Kasson-Mantorville) defeated Quayin Short (Simley) by pinfall (1:33)

195: Garrison Soliday (St. Thomas Academy) defeated Bennett Tabor (Simley) by pinfall (4:34)

220: Garsen Schoor (Kasson-Mantorville) defeated Phil Skeps (St. Thomas Academy)

285: Daniel Kerkvliet (Simley) defeated Logan Wingert (Plainview-Elgin-Millville)

Section 1AAA

106: Chase Murphy (Northfield) defeated Hunter Frost (Farmington) by pinfall (1:06)

113: Ryan Henningson (Winona/Winona Cotter) defeated Jake Messner (Northfield) by a 16-4 decision

120: Nic Cantu (Albert Lea) defeated Kanin Habel (Owatonna) by pinfall (2:36)

126: Cole Glazier (Albert Lea) defeated Marshall Peters (Mayo) by a 6-3 decision

132: Trayton Anderson (Northfield) defeated Connor Higgins (John Marshall) by pinfall (0:49)

138: Drew Woodley (Northfield) defeated Landen Johnson (Owatonna) by an 8-2 decision

145: Luke Peterson (Farmington) defeated Kaden Nelson (Owatonna) by a 12-0 decision

152: Austin Hamel (Farmington) defeated Griffin Studier (Albert Lea) by an 8-2 decision

160: Chase Vought (Farmington) defeated William Krueger (Mayo) by a 15-7 decision

170: Jack Stanton (Northfield) defeated Austin Underdahl (Faribault) by a 3-1 decision

182: Zach Glazier (Albert Lea) defeated Cade King (Owatonna) by a 1-0 decision

195: MacAron Kukowski (Farmington) defeated Josh Heyda (Faribault) by a 12-5 decision

220: Nick Staska (Owatonna) defeated Brady Nielson (Albert Lea) by a 5-2 decision

285: Zander Rusert (Winona/Winona Cotter) defeated Nick Lopez (Northfield) by a 7-2 decision 

Article Comments

Mason City
58° wxIcon
Hi: 63° Lo: 39°
Feels Like: 58°
Albert Lea
54° wxIcon
Hi: 63° Lo: 38°
Feels Like: 54°
61° wxIcon
Hi: 66° Lo: 41°
Feels Like: 61°
Charles City
61° wxIcon
Hi: 65° Lo: 41°
Feels Like: 61°
Broken Clouds
57° wxIcon
Hi: 63° Lo: 38°
Feels Like: 57°
Tracking a rainy start but sunshine will return!
KIMT Radar
KIMT Eye in the sky

Latest Video


Sydney Eaton named All-MVC


Construction on 18th Ave NW resumes Monday


Drake Relays qualifiers announced


App allows you to solve mysteries


Church attendance strong on Easter


Two hospitalized after Austin shooting


Tracking Rain Showers and Storms


Blackowiak signs with Augsburg


New Hampton girl's golf invite


Austin Bruins vs. Aberdeen Wings - Gm. 4

Community Events