SEVERE WX : Excessive Heat Watch View Alerts

Franklin County declared a disaster area

Joins 28 other counties since June 14.

Posted: Jul 3, 2018 2:06 PM

DES MOINES, Iowa – Governor Kim Reynolds has issued a disaster proclamation for Franklin County.

The move is in response to the flooding and severe weather that began on June 14 and will allow state resources to go toward recovery efforts. The proclamation activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program and the Disaster Care Management Program.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $41,560 for a family of three. Disaster Case Management is a program to address serious needs to overcome a disaster-related hardship, injury or adverse condition. There are no income eligibility requirements.

Governor Reynolds has issued disaster proclamations for 29 counties since June 14, including Hancock, Winnebago, Kossuth, and now Franklin.

Article Comments

Mason City
Few Clouds
78° wxIcon
Hi: 85° Lo: 68°
Feels Like: 80°
Albert Lea
79° wxIcon
Hi: 83° Lo: 68°
Feels Like: 81°
79° wxIcon
Hi: 85° Lo: 69°
Feels Like: 81°
Charles City
73° wxIcon
Hi: 85° Lo: 68°
Feels Like: 73°
74° wxIcon
Hi: 84° Lo: 66°
Feels Like: 74°
Tracking Heat and Storm Chances
KIMT Radar
KIMT Eye in the sky

Community Events