ROCHESTER, Minn. - The state of Minnesota reports 458 drivers have been cited for not stopping behind school buses when their extended stop sign arm is out.
Starting Aug. 1 of this year, the fine increased from $300 to $500.
In Minnesota, drivers must stop at least 20 feet from a school bus with the stop sign arm extended.
This law was put in place to help kids getting off and on the bus stay safe.
Aaron Evans is a local parent. He said putting kids first should always be a top priority.
"The motorists have to remember that the kids are getting off the buses and they could go either way, you know, right or left. And so it's really in everybody's best interest if they would just stop," he said.
He said people need patience.
"Especially if they're getting road rage behind a school bus you know, imagine how they would react to another driver, an adult driver," he said.